Begin Main Content Area

 Content Editor

​Recognized Stroke Centers

​​​Act 4 of 2017, which went into effect August 11, 2017, creates two additional classifications of stroke care at acute care hospitals. Acute care hospitals may now be designated as Comprehensive Stroke Centers or Acute Stroke-Ready Hospitals, as well as the existing classification of Primary Stroke Centers. The designation shall last as long as the hospital remains certified by the accreditation organization, unless the designation is suspended or revoked by the Department.
Hospitals seeking recognition as a Primary Stroke Center, Comprehensive Stroke Center or Acute Stroke-Ready Hospital must submit an application.