

Pennsylvania Department of Health Office of Medical Marijuana

<u>Application for Approval</u> <u>to Provide a 4-hour Training Course</u> <u>in the Medical Marijuana Program</u>

Publication Release Date: May 24, 2017

For additional information please contact: The Pennsylvania Department of Health Office of Medical Marijuana RA-DHMedMarijuana@pa.gov

The Department will begin accepting applications from applicants on June 5, 2017

Instructions for Application for Approval to Provide a 4-hour Training Course in the Medical Marijuana Program

Required Submission

An Application for Approval to Provide a 4-hour Training Course in the Medical Marijuana Program must be submitted to the Department of Health ("Department") by any entity that wishes to conduct a four-hour training course for continuing education credits to a physician registering to become a practitioner with the Medical Marijuana Program or any medical professional who wishes to be employed by a dispensary. A practitioner is a physician who is registered with the Department to issue patient certifications to patients with serious medical conditions (28 Pa. Code § 1141.21 (relating to definitions)). A medical professional is a physician, pharmacist, certified registered nurse practitioner or a physician assistant who will be employed by a dispensary under 28 Pa. Code § 1161.25 (relating to licensed medical professionals at facility).

In Section 3 (Program Instructors) of the Application for Approval to Provide a 4-hour Training Course in the Medical Marijuana Program, an applicant must detail the areas of instruction that will be provided in the 4-hour training course, which must include, at a minimum, the following topics:

- (1) The provisions of the Medical Marijuana Act (35 P.S. §§ 10231.101-10231.2110) and its regulations that are relevant to the responsibilities of a practitioner or medical professional.
- (2) General information about medical marijuana under Federal and State law.
- (3) The latest scientific research on the Endocannabinoid System and medical marijuana, including the risks and benefits of medical marijuana.
- (4) Recommendations for medical marijuana as it relates to the continuing care of a patient in the following areas:
 - (i) Pain management, including opioid use in conjunction with medical marijuana.
 - (ii) Risk management, including drug interactions, side effects and potential addiction from medical marijuana use.
 - (iii) Palliative care.
 - (iv) The misuse of opioids and medical marijuana.
 - (v) Recommendations for use of medical marijuana and obtaining informed consent from a patient.
 - (vi) Any other area determined by the Department.
- (5) Use of the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program.
- (6) Best practices for recommending the form of medical marijuana and dosage based on the patient's serious medical condition and the practitioner's or medical professional's medical specialty and training.



The 4-hour training course must also be approved for continuing education credits by the respective Board for whom the training will be offered:

- The State Board of Medicine and the State Board of Osteopathic Medicine.
- The State Board of Pharmacy.
- The State Board of Nursing.

Approval Process

An Application for Approval to Provide a 4-hour Training Course in the Medical Marijuana Program that is submitted to the Department will be reviewed as to whether the applicant's proposed training meets the training requirements listed above and is approved by one or more of the State Boards for continuing education credits. The Department will notify the applicant if it has any additional questions and if the training program submitted by the applicant has been approved. The training program outlined in an applicant's Application for Approval to Provide a 4-hour Training Course in the Medical Marijuana Program is prohibited from being offered to any physician registering to become a practitioner in the program or any medical professional who will be employed by a dispensary until the applicant has been approved by the Department to offer the 4-hour training course, and the applicant has been listed as a training provider on the Department's website.

Incomplete Applications

An Application for Approval to Provide a 4-hour Training Course in the Medical Marijuana Program will be considered incomplete and will be returned to the applicant if it does not contain the material requested by the Department for each section of the application. The Department will also consider an application to be incomplete if it has not been signed by the applicant.

Completing the Application

Complete every section of the application.

Unless the applicant is providing training materials to the Department through a website, the application and any supporting documentation must be saved as PDF files on a single USB drive, external hard drive, CD-ROM, or DVD, in accordance with the following file naming format: *Training Approval Application.pdf*.

Please make sure the application is properly signed, dated, scanned and provided electronically in a pdf file.



Submitting Your Application

Applications must be mailed to the following address:

PA Department of Health Office of Medical Marijuana Training Approval Room 628, Health and Welfare Building 625 Forster Street Harrisburg, PA 17120



Section 1 - General Information

Business Name: List the legal name of the applicant that is offering the training course.

Mailing Address: Enter the complete mailing address for the applicant.

Delivery Method: Select the method that will used to deliver the training program.

- Electronic
- In-Person
- Electronic and In-Person

Training options: Indicate whether the applicant's focus will be on training physicians registering with the program to become practitioners, medical professionals, or both. If the applicant checks medical professional, please indicate the group or groups who will be trained.

- A practitioner is a physician who is registered with the Department to issue patient certifications to patients with serious medical conditions.
- A medical professional is a physician, pharmacist, certified registered nurse practitioner or a physician assistant who will be employed by a dispensary under 28 Pa. Code § 1161.25 (relating to licensed medical professionals at facility).

Continuing Education: Indicate whether the 4-hour training course has been approved for continuing education credits. If the training course has been approved, indicate which State Board(s) has approved the materials for continuing education credits.

<u>Note:</u> An Application for Approval to Provide a 4-hour Training Course in the Medical Marijuana Program is prohibited from being approved unless the State Board of Medicine, the State Board of Osteopathic Medicine, the State Board of Pharmacy or the State Board of Nursing has approved the training course for continuing education credits.

Business Type: Check off the applicant's type of business that is registered with either the PA Department of State or PA Department of Revenue, as applicable.

Federal ID Number: Enter your Federal ID Number.

Workforce Development Grants: Check off whether the applicant's training course has received any local or state workforce development funding.

Section 2 - Contact Information

Contact Person: List the name, title and contact information for the individual the Department is to contact with any questions concerning the Application for Approval to Provide a 4-hour Training Course in the Medical Marijuana Program.



Section 3 – Program Instructors

List the name of each instructor who will be providing instruction as part of the applicant's 4-hour training course. For each instructor, also list his or her qualifications and the areas of instruction he or she will provide. Instructors must have demonstrated knowledge and experience related to medical marijuana and their respective areas of instruction. Please refer to the "Required Submission" section of this application for a list of topics that must be included in the applicant's 4-hour training course.

Section 4 – Education Materials

Submit all materials that will be used in the applicant's 4-hour training course, including the following documents:

- A syllabus for your 4-hour training course.
- A list of class objectives for your 4-hour training course.
- A description of the testing methods used for the training course.
- An outline of the curriculum plan that shows all topics to be covered and the length of time, in hours, for each lecture.
- The policies and procedures that will be followed for maintaining records for physicians and medical professionals who completed the 4-hour training course.

If the training course material is contained on the web, the applicant must provide the web address and any access codes that are needed to view the training materials.

Section 5 – Training Facilities.

List all facilities where the applicant's training will be conducted, including a web address if the course is to be offered electronically. Attach additional pages if you need more space.

Section 6 – Signature.

Provide the name, title and signature of the individual who is authorized to sign the Application for Approval to Provide a 4-hour Training Course in the Medical Marijuana Program on behalf of the applicant, and the date the application was signed.



Application for Approval to Provide a 4-hour Training Course in the Medical Marijuana Program						
Section 1 - General Information						
Business Name:						
Business Address:	City:	State:	Zip Code:			
Select the delivery method of your training:						
□ In-Person □ Electronic □ Electronic and In-Person						
Select the group(s) who will be offered training	g (check all that ap	ply):				
□ Physicians □ Medical professionals						
If training will be provided to medical professionals, the type of medical professional to be						
trained (check all that apply):						
Physician Pharmacist Physician Assistant						
Certified Registered Nurse Practitioner						
Has the training course been approved for continuing education credits?						
\Box Yes \Box No (If the answer is no, please attach a statement as to when the training course is						
expected to be approved.)						
Please indicate the Board that has approved the training course material for continuing education						
credits (check all that apply).						
 The State Board of Medicine The State Board of Osteopathic Medicine 						
 The State Board of Pharmacy The State Board of Pharmacy 						
□ The State Board of Financey □ The State Board of Nursing						
Business Type (check one)						
□ Association	□ Non-Profit Co	orporation				
Corporation	□ Partnership					
	\Box Sole Proprieto	Proprietor rnment Agency (Please name the				
□ Limited Liability Company	agency)	Agency (Ple	ase name the			
Limited Liability Partnership Limited Partnership	agency					
□ Limited Partnership						



Federal ID Number:		Is there funding from a workforce development			
		grant being used for this training?			
		\Box Yes \Box No			
Section 2 - Contact Information					
Contact Person:		Title:			
Phone Number (including area code):		Email Address:			
	,				
		Instructors			
List the name of each instructor, his/her qualifications to provide training, and the areas of					
instruction. The areas of instr		t a minimum, co	over those topics listed in th		
"Required Submission" section	1.				
Instructor Name	Qualifications		Area(s) of Instruction		
Please attach additional pages t	to this applicatio	on if necessary.			
	11	2			
Section 4 - Educational Materials					
Please attach a copy of the ed					
listed above. If the materials are	e web-based, ple	ase provide a we	b address and any access code		
Section 5 Training Equilities					
Section 5 - Training Facilities List all facilities where training will be conducted. If training is to be performed electronically,					
please provide the web address and phone number for IT support.					
Name of Facility	Address		Phone Number (includin		
			area code)		
Diagon attach additional pages	to this application	n if nooscowy			
Please attach additional pages t	to this applicatio	in it necessary.			



Section 6 - Signature				
I,, as an authorized agent for , hereby acknowledge that before training may be offere				
to physicians registering as practitioners, medical professionals, or both, the Department of Health must approve my Application for Approval to Provide a 4-hour Training Course in the Medical Marijuana Program.				
I understand that payment for the training is the responsibility of the physician or medical professional and that the applicant is not to seek payment from the Department of Health for any training provided to a physician or medical professional.				
I also understand that I must contact the Department of Health 30 days prior to any changes being made to the 4-hour training course, including a change in instructors or educational materials.				
A false statement made in this Application for Approval to Provide a 4-hour Training Course in the Medical Marijuana Program is punishable under the applicable provisions of 18 Pa. C.S. Chapter 49 (relating to falsification and intimidation).				
Signature Title in Applicant's Business Date				
Printed Name				
A photocopy or other electronic version of this document shall be accepted as an original signature.				

