COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA BOARD OF PENNSYLVANIA RURAL HEALTH REDESIGN CENTER AUTHORITY **THIRTENNTH OFFICIAL BOARD OF DIRECTOR MEETING** TUESDAY, NOVEMBER 16th, 2021 CONFERENCE CALL 10:00AM-10:30AM

Meeting Minutes of Public Session

Call to Order:

Keara Klinepeter, Executive Deputy Secretary on behalf of Secretary Beam, RHRCA-Chairwoman. Ms. Klinepeter called the meeting to order and requested Board Members, Department Staff and Members of the Public introduce themselves and their organization affiliation.

Board Introductions:

Commonwealth Representatives:

- 1. Keara Klinepeter, Executive Deputy Secretary represented as the Chairman on behalf of Secretary Alison Beam from PA Department of Health (DOH);
- 2. Catherine Stetler (on behalf of Doug Jacobs, Chief Innovation Officer, DHS)
- 3. Jared Shinabery, Deputy Secretary for Health Resources and Services, PA Department of Health;
- 4. Katie Merritt, Director of Policy and Planning at Pennsylvania Insurance Department (PID) (on behalf of Jessica Altman, Commissioner, PID);

Commonwealth's Absentees:

1. Jessica Altman, Commissioner, Pennsylvania Insurance Department (PID);

Payer Representatives:

- 1. Sean Burns, VP Reimbursement and Network Infrastructure, Highmark;
- 2. Raymond Prushnok, AVP Program Development, UPMC;
- 3. John Bulger, CMO, Geisinger;
- 4. Doug Doyle, Senior Director of Provider Contracting, Gateway;
- 5. Megan Richards, Senior Network Director, Aetna;
- 6. Sarah MacDerment, Actuarial Director, Geisinger;
- 7. Mike Sweeney, VP, UPMC;

Payer's Absentees:

- 1. Linda Darga, Sr Director, Network Management VBS, Aetna;
- 2. Cheryl Hsiao, Network Manager at Aetna (for Linda Darga, Sr Director, Network Management VBS, Aetna)

Hospital Representatives (1 additional representative pending confirmation):

- 1. Jack Sisk, CFO, Punxsutawney Area Hospital;
- 2. Sara Adornato, CEO, Barnes-Kasson County Hospital;

- 3. James Pettinato, Chief Clinician Director of Patient Care Services, Wayne Memorial Hospital;
- 4. Tammy Anderer, CAO, Geisinger Jersey Shore Hospital;
- 5. Loren Stone, CEO, Endless Mountains Health Systems;
- 6. Kate Slatt, Vice President of Innovative Payment and Care Delivery, The Hospital and Healthsystem Association of Pennsylvania;

Hospital's Absentees:

1. John Lewis, CEO, Armstrong County Memorial Hospital;

National Recognized Experts:

- 1. Donna Kinzer, Global Budget Expert, DK Healthcare Consulting;
- 2. Brock Slabach, SVP-National Rural Health Association;

Department Staff

- 1. Gary Zegiestowsky, ED, RHRCA;
- 2. Janice Walters, COO, RHRCA;
- 3. Diana Carpenter, Clinical Program Manager, RHRCA;

Members of the Public:

- Ben Dannels, Associate, Greenlee Partners;
- Kimberley Rak, Medical Anthropologist at Department of Critical Care Medicine, University of Pittsburgh;
- Nicole Ober, Project Coordinator, University of Pittsburgh;
- Jacqueline Barnes, Qualitative Researcher, Learning Scientist, University of Pittsburgh;
- Ben Debrunner, Policy Analyst, National Alliance of Safety-Net Hospitals
- Ted Mowatt, Vice-President, Wanner Associates

Opening Remarks- by Ms. Klinepeter on behalf of Alison Beam, RHRCA-Chair:

• Ms. Klinepeter took roll and commented that there is an Executive Session meeting immediately following this one

August 17th, 2021 Board Minutes Approval-by Ms. Klinepeter on behalf of Alison Beam, RHRCA-Chair:

• Ms. Klinepeter asked for Board members to review the minutes sent out to see if they had any edits or questions.

Mr. Pettinato motioned for the approval of the minutes and Ms. Adornato seconded. There were no objections or abstentions and the motion was passed.

• Ms. Klinepeter then yielded to Ms. Walters to report on the treatment of the float payment

 Ms. Walters provided background and then stated the following recommended approach: To reduce administrative burden on all Model participants, continue with Option 3 which excludes the float payment from final reconciliation and allow it to carry forward until the end of the program and only include it in the final program year reconciliation.

There were no questions concerning the recommended approach and Ms. Klinepeter called for a vote.

Ms. MacDerment motioned for the approval of the recommended approach and Ms. Merritt seconded. There were no objections and the motion was passed.

 Ms. Walters then reviewed the 2022 Prospective UVS Adjustment and the current recommendation. The recommendation is: To forego the prospective UVS adjustment for 2022 as done for 2021 to reduce administrative burden given COVID's impact in the comparative 2021 period. The 2022 final reconciliation will include the full year UVS adjustment per policy.

There were no questions concerning the recommendations and Ms. Klinepeter called for a vote.

Ms. Kinzer motioned for the approval of the recommendation and Dr. Jacobs seconded. There were no objections and the motion was passed.

 Ms. Walters then reported on the PARHM Program Results. This included a review of the National Rural Spend to PARHM participants, the PARHM All-Payer Financial Targets, a CMS Quality Data Comparison, a review of the measures used to assess the program's outcomes, a review of the DHS Quality Improvement Program and CMS Value-Based Purchasing Components and the Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (HCAHPS) Ratings from 2018 and 2019.

There were no questions concerning the information and Ms. Walters yielded the floor to Ms. Klinepeter.

Opportunity Public Comment:

• Ms. Klinepeter opened a section for public comment and invited the members of the public to bring forth their comments.

As there were no public comments, Ms. Klinepeter moved the agenda forward and announced that an Executive Session will be conducted today following the public meeting.

Ms. Klinepeter asked if any Board members had any additional comments and hearing none, adjourned the meeting.

The next Public Board meetings will be bi-monthly on 3rd Tuesday of month starting @10:00am ET. The schedule is as follows:

- January 18, 2022
- March 15, 2022
- May 17, 2022
- July 19, 2022
- September 20, 2022
- November 15, 2022

The meeting adjourned at 10:30 am.