
H114.600  Rev. 11/2022 

COMMONWEALTH OF PENNSYLVANIA 

DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 

APPLICATION FOR PRESCRIPTION HEARING AID 

APPRENTICE OR TEMPORARY FITTER REGISTRATION 
HEARING AID SALES REGISTRATION LAW (ACT of 1976, No. 262)/PRESCRIPTION HEARING AIDS 

Type or print all answers to all questions.  Use "Not Applicable" (N/A) where appropriate.  Pay fee by check or money order payable to "Pennsylvania Department of 
Health.", or credit card payment. DO NOT SEND CASH.  Complete and return application along with correct fee to:     

PENNSYLVANIA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH,  HEARING AID PROGRAM, 

2525 North 7th STREET, SUITE 210D, HARRISBURG, PA 17110

Phone: 717-787-4779. Fax 717-231-4790 or SCAN  application and all required documents as PDF and email to: RA-DDC@PA.GOV 

The Act does not apply to nor affect any physician, or audiologist licensed under appropriate licensing laws, or to an individual supervised by such physician, or 

audiologist, who does not directly or indirectly engage in the sale or offering for sale of hearing aids.  Registration is required when such persons engage in the sale or 

offering for sale of hearing aids. Only current registered Pennsylvania Hearing Aid Fitters may sponsor an apprentice hearing aid fitter. 

You may access this form and other registration forms via www.health.state.pa.us/hearingaid or www.health.pa.gov  

   (CHECK APPROPRIATE BLOCK) 

APPRENTICE FITTER REGISTRATION TEMPORARY HEARING AID FITTER   

Attach copy of out-of-state license or PA Audiologist License. 
 Note, must have held valid registration or license for at least 2 years out of last 5 years and such 

registration/license was held in good standing. 

REGISTRATION FEES INFORMATION 

Apprentice Fitter Registration ………………………………………………………………….……..…………………………………………….. $ 50.00 
Temporary Hearing Aid Fitter ……………………………………………………………….………….……………………………………………. $ 50.00 

Apprentice/Temporary Fitter Renewal ………………………………………………………………..….………….……………………………… $100.00 

Late Registration Fee Penalty…………………………………………………..……………………………………………………………………... $ 50.00 

NOTE: REINSTATEMENTS AND DEALER REGISTRATION REQUIRES DIFFERENT FORM 

Complete if paying by CREDIT CARD: (VISA    MC   DISCOVER   AE )   CIRCLE ONE 

 #  _  _  _  _- _  _  _  _- _  _  _  _-_  _  _  _    EXP DATE  _  _/_  _       TOTAL  $ _________ 

Security Code __  __  __  __ (3-4  Digit Code on back  of card)   Billing Zip Code __  __  __  __  __

APPLICATION FOR HEARING AID APPRENTICE FITTERS OR TEMPORARY FITTERS 

(PLEASE PRINT CLEARLY, COMPLETELY, AND ENSURE REQUIRED DOCUMENTS ARE ATTACHED) 

1. NAME:    Last First Middle   (AREA CODE) TELEPHONE NUMBER 

2. a. SOCIAL SECURITY NUMBER: b. DATE OF BIRTH  (MM/DD/YYYY) EMAIL:  

3. RESIDENT ADDRESS: STREET  (P.O. BOX or Number, Street)    CITY    STATE    ZIP CODE  COUNTY 

4. PRINT NAME OF BUSINESS/DEALER ( PA. location where Apprentice will train or Temporary will practice)  PA.  DEALER REGISTRATION NUMBER  

____________________________________________________________________________________________________ 
5. BUSINESS ADDRESS:   STREET    CITY    STATE    ZIP CODE    (AREA CODE) TELEPHONE NUMBER  

6. APPRENTICE APPLICANTS ONLY--PRINT NAME OF SPONSOR FITTER & THEIR FITTER REGISTRATION  #  ( must be current PA. Hearing Aid Fitter ) 

7. Apprentice Applicants only--TRAINING AND EDUCATION (T&E) FORM.

A COMPLETED T&E FORM MUST BE ATTACHED TO APPLICATION AND SIGNED BY SPONSOR.
      If form is needed, go to www.health.state.pas/us/hearingaid or www.health.pa.gov.  Click on Hearing Aid Program, select Forms, then 

select Training and Education. (Description of Work and Description of Supervision as outlined under Section 302 and Section 306 of the 

Hearing Aid Sales Registration Law). Must be signed by a current registered  Pennsylvania Fitter  

(not temporary fitter, dealer, or audiologist without a separate individual  fitter registration) 

APPLICATION CONTINUED ON PAGE 2  

mailto:RA-DDC@PA.GOV
http://www.health.state.pa.us/hearingaid
http://www.health.state.pas/us/hearingaid
http://www.health.pa.gov/


 

APPRENTICE AND TEMPORARY FITTER WORK EXPERIENCE 
 
 

8.  APPRENTICE APPLICANT- NOTE PREVIOUS OR CURRENT EMPLOYMENT IN THE HEARING AID INDUSTRY: 
 

 EMPLOYED BY    EMPLOYER'S ADDRESS    DATES EMPLOYED 

          From:  To: 

                

 

                   

 

                   

    
 

9.   TEMPORARY FITTER-- WORK EXPERIENCE:  List all hearing aid related work experience, including dates, over the last five (5) years. 

          (Ensure out of state fitter license or PA. audiologist license is attached.) 

EMPLOYED BY    EMPLOYER'S ADDRESS    DATES EMPLOYED 

                                            From:  To: 

                

 

                

 

                

 

 

 

10.  PREVIOUS OR PRESENT LICENSES OR REGISTRATIONS (HEARING AID DEALER, FITTER, AUDIOLOGIST, PHYSICIAN) 

  (Please attach copies of all Pennsylvania or out-of-state license/registration) 

  Name of State   License or Registration Number   Expiration Date   Current ? 

               ____ 
    

 

11. HAVE YOU (APPLICANT) TAKEN THE PENNSYLVANIA DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH’S HEARING AID FITTER  

EXAMNATION OR BEEN A PENNSYLVANIA REGISTERED APPRENTICE OR FITTER IN THE PAST? 

□ YES  □ NO   IF YES, DATE OF LAST EXAMINATION _______________ PREVIOUS REGISTRATION NO. __________ 

 

12. HAVE YOU EVER BEEN CONVICTED OF A CRIMINAL OFFENSE? (Criminal offenses include felonies & misdemeanors, convictions  

Included a verdict of guilty, guilty plea or a plea of nolo contendere.) 

  □ YES  □ NO    IF YES, LIST ALL CONVICTIONS OF FELONIES AND MISDEMEANORS-LIST EXACT COUNTY AND STATE    

OR GOVERNMENT WHERE CONVICTED, DATE OF CONVICTION, AND THE RESULTING PENALTY IMPOSED. (USE 

SEPRATE SHEET) 

 

13. HAVE YOU EVER HAD A FITTER REGISTRATION/LICENSE OR SIMILAR PROFESSIONAL REGISTRATION/LICENSE 

PREVIOUSLY HELD FOR FITTING OR SELLING HEARING AIDS THAT HAS BEEN DENIED, SUSPENDED, REVOKED, 

RESTRICTED OR SUBJECTED TO ANY OTHER SANCTION FOR DISCIPLINARY REASONS BY ANY GOVERNMENT 

AUTHORITY IN THE UNITED STATES? 

□ YES  □ NO    IF YES, LIST DATE, SANCTION AND REASON. LIST GOVERNMENT AGENCY WHICH IMPOSED THE 

ACTION.  (USE SEPRATE SHEET) 

 

14.  REQUIRED for all :         ATTACH CRIMINAL RECORD CHECK FROM PENNSYLVANIA STATE POLICE 

(www.psp.pa.gov). IF NONRESIDENT OF PENNSYLVANIA OR RESIDENT LESS THAN 5 YEARS, STATE POLICE BACKGROUND 

CHECKS FROM ALL STATES IN WHICH APPLICANT HAD RESIDED IN LAST 5 YEARS OR FEDERAL FBI BACKGROUND.                                                                                                                                 
(i.e. Residing in New Jersey and Maryland, then both New Jersey State Police and Maryland  State police background checks) 

 

 

I certify that ALL information provided on this application and any documents submitted with it, is true and correct to the 

best of my knowledge. I have attached my criminal background check and my training and education agreement.  

 

APPLICANT NAME (Type or Print)       

 

APPLICANT SIGNATURE                DATE ___________________ 

 

 



               
                                        (Rev. 11/2022) 

APPRENTICE TRAINING AND EDUCATION OUTLINE/AGREEMENT 
 

FOR APPRENTICE  ________________________________________________________(name of trainee) 

 

IN ACCORDANCE WITH ACT 262, SECTION 302 and SECTION 306, THE FOLLOWING TRAINING WILL 

BE PROVIDED BY THE SPONSOR NAMED BELOW. 

1. The anatomy and physiology of the ear 

2. The function of hearing aids 

3. The knowledge and understanding of the grounds for revocation, suspension or probation of the registrant as 

outlined in this act. 

4. The knowledge and understanding of violations and penalties as outlined in this act. 

5. The procedures and use of equipment established by the department for the fitting and selling of hearing aids. 

6. Taking ear mold impressions. 

7. Evidence of knowledge regarding the medical and rehabilitation facilities for children and adults that are available 

in the areas served. 

8. A knowledge of criteria for medical referral when found to exist either from observation by the registrant or on 

the basis of information furnished by the prospective hearing aid user to include the following: 
i. Visible congenital or traumatic deformity of the ear. 

ii. Active drainage of the ear within the previous 90 days or history of this symptom. 

iii. Sudden or rapidly progressive hearing loss within the previous 90 days or history of this symptom. 

iv. Acute or chronic dizziness. 

v. Unilateral hearing loss of sudden or recent onset within the previous 90 days. 

vi. Visible evidence of cerumen accumulation or a foreign body in the ear canal 

vii. Pain in the ear within the previous 90 days. 

 

PERIOD 1.  The trainee shall work for two months under the immediate direct and personal supervision of, and in the 

same office as the sponsor fitter registrant.  During this stage, the trainee may do testing for the proper selection and 

fitting of hearing aids and make ear impressions, but the final testing and final fitting for the sale of a hearing aid must be 

approved by the sponsor fitter registrant. 
 

PERIOD 2. This training stage shall be for a  minimum of four months but is automatically extended to include any 

period beyond four months in which a trainee/apprentice holds an active apprentice registration.   During this time the 

trainee may engage in all the activities of a fitter registrant, but shall continue to work under the direct supervision of the 

sponsor fitter registrant and have work reviewed. The Sponsor fitter will continue to be responsible for all work including 

but not limited to all fitting and sales by the apprentice fitter. The Sponsor fitter will continue to provide training as 

needed. The Sponsor will ensure only apprentices/trainees with current active registrations are permitted to fit and sell.  
 

These two periods described above shall be completed with no time lapse between periods except as authorized by the 

Department for justifiable cause shown by the trainee or sponsor or both.                                                                                

The apprentice fitter shall always clearly identify themselves to consumers as an apprentice or trainee. 
 

AS THE HEARING AID FITTER SPONSOR, I acknowledge that I am responsible for the training and education 

of the aforementioned apprentice and agree to work diligently to properly train and education this apprentice. I 

understand that I am responsible for any related fitting, services, or hearing aid sales performed by said 

apprentice. I understand that if I desire to terminate responsibilities with regard to an apprentice, I shall give the 

apprentice 10 days written notice of the reasons for the action and SHALL NOTIFY THE DEPARTMENT at the 

same time by certified mail 

 

______________________________       _____________                 __________________ 
Signature of Sponsor                                         Fitter No.                Date 

 

 

Submit with fee and apprentice application and criminal background check  

 

 

 

 


