Mount Union Borough
The town of
Mount Union was laid out in 1840 by Dougherty and Speer for John Sharrer and incorporated as a borough on April 19, 1867. Mount Union is located in eastern Huntingdon County, adjacent to the Juniata River and U.S. Route 22. Mount Union Borough is served by a Borough Council consisting of nine persons, who work to improve the social and economic conditions of their community and maintain Mount Union’s rich, historical heritage.
The Mount Union Harbison-Walker Brickyard, constructed in 1899, was the first works in the United States built exclusively for the manufacture of silica brick and was the largest in the world at the time. The East Broad Top Railroad connected with the Pennsylvania Railroad Company here and made the town a trade center for the southern section of the county. During World War II, the East Broad Top train station was used by hundreds of trains as a switch station and as a large depot for military supplies in World War II.
Mount Union has a population of approximately 2,500 people and is the most ethnically diverse municipality in the region, which is largely due to the migration of Eastern European, German, Irish, and African American people who sought work in the brickyards. Main Street once had many banks, businesses, and a theater that was part of a thriving economy. The Bricktown Unity Trail route, along with the First Friday ArtFest, showcases the Borough’s artesian past and historical sites.
If you are interested in joining a walking group in Mount Union Borough or looking for a place to walk and engage in regular physical activity, please email or contact one of the following for more information:
Gary Kuklo at
Sue Zinobile at