Apprentice Registration and Exam FAQ
What do I need to do to become a registered fitter/dispenser in Pennsylvania?
When do I have to take the PA Hearing Aid Fitters Exam?
- Establish a relationship with a Pennsylvania Registered Hearing Aid Fitter who is willing to sponsor and train you as an apprentice.
- Complete an apprentice application and return it to the Department of Health/Hearing Aid Program with the required fee for approval. A sponsor signed training and education outline must be enclosed for approval.
- Certificate and information package will be mailed to you within 7- 10 days of application approval.
- You must complete a minimum six-month training period.
- You must be supervised by your sponsor for as long as you remain an active (practicing) apprentice
- Upon completion of your six-month training period, you must pass all eight parts of the hearing aid fitters’ exam given by the Department of Health
- Change in sponsorship requires 10-day notification and refilling of a signed Training & Education Sheet by your new sponsor.
Upon completion of the six-month apprentice training period:
- You will have the opportunity to register for the next scheduled exam given by the Department of Health twice a year in Harrisburg.
- And, in the event you do not pass all eight parts the first time, you will have the opportunity to renew your registration certification and register for the next scheduled exam.
- You will be permitted two renewals of your apprentice registration. If you exceed two renewals, or if you choose not to renew at all, you will be placed on the INACTIVE list, however, you may still register to take the next scheduled exam. Inactive apprentices should notify the department at least eight weeks prior to the next scheduled exam of their desire to sit for the exam.
After you have passed all eight parts of the exam, a Pennsylvania Fitter’s Registration Certificate will be issued to you.According to the PA Hearing Aid Sales law, you are not permitted to fit and sell hearing aids without a valid registration certificate.Does Pennsylvania have a practical test?
At this time, Pennsylvania does not require the completion of a practical exam only to obtain a Fitters registration. What do the eight parts of the PA Hearing Aid Fitters Exam consist of?
TOTAL 160 multiple & true/false questions
- Part I – Anatomy & Physiology
- Part II – Functions of Hearing Aids
- Part III – Grounds for Revocation/Suspension/Probation
- Part IV – Violations and Penalties
- Part V – Procedures and Equipment
- Part VI – Taking Earmold Impressions
- Part VII – Medical and Rehab Facilities
- Part VIII – Medical Referral
Please refer to study material list to assist you in the preparation of the exam.When do I become a Fitter/Dispenser?
You become a fitter/dispenser after successful completion of all eight parts of the PA Hearing Aid Fitters Exam. A certificate of registration will be mailed to you. Upon receipt of this certificate, you are permitted to independently fit and sell hearing aids in PennsylvaniaI just passed all eight parts of the fitters’ exam; do I have to have 20 continuing education credits to renew my certification for the April 15 renewal?
Fitter/Dispensers who have recently passed all eight parts of the fitters’ exam will be required to report a prorated amount of continuing education hours based on the number of full months they have been registered prior to the April 15 renewal. The general calculation is 24 months ÷ 20 contact hours = .84 contact hours per month. Therefore, .84 contact hours per month X the number of full months registered prior to April 15 renewal = number of contact hours required.
Dealer Registration and Branch Requirements
How do I apply for a Dealer Registration?
Refer to our web application or contact the Department of Health/Hearing Aid Program for a dealer registration application.
Send check or money order for registration fee of $200.00 or the adjusted fee of $100.00 from October 15 through April 14.
Include copies of all current licenses of professional staff.What are some other requirements for a dealer registration certification?
You must be or have employed a Pennsylvania licensed physician, audiologist or registered fitter upon application.
You will be required to renew annually prior to the April 15 deadline for a current registration certification and pay the renewal fee of $100.00 or $150.00 delinquent fee, if not paid by May 15 of current year.I want to open more branches or stores, what do I do?
What am I required to do if I sell my dealership or if there is a death of the owner?
- Contact the Department of Health/Hearing Aid Program in writing, requesting additional registration certificates for the stores you plan to open or use the web branch registration form. The form or request letter you submit should include:
- the name of the business
- your current registration number
- phone number
- professional in charge at the new location.
- A $10.00 check must be included for each office you wish to open. These offices will be registered as branch offices using your current registration number and a two-digit extension.
- The definition of a branch office is anywhere a fitter/dispenser is fitting and selling hearing aids to the public on a regular basis. (Examples: physician office, store, hotels, malls, nursing homes, churches, etc.)
- Branch offices must be renewed annually on April 15. The cost for renewal of each branch office is $10.00.
If you sell or closed your dealership or branch office, please notify the Department of Health/Hearing Aid Program, in writing within 15 days. In case of a death of owner, please have power of attorney or executor contact Department of Health/Hearing Aid Program in writing.
Closed dealerships or branch offices must be removed from the ACTIVE list and placed on the INACTIVE list to avoid delinquent registration charges.
What do I need to do to be reinstated as a fitter/dispenser in Pennsylvania?
Reinstatements are always subject to approval.
- You must re-apply by completing an application form and submitting it to the Department of Health with the required reinstatement fee of $150.00 for approval. (Refer to our online registration)
- You must be current with the required continuing education requirements. A minimum of 20 continuing education credits in a previous 2-year period prior to reinstatement.
Do I have to take the PA Fitters Exam again?
- Upon approval, and proof of continuing educations requirements, you will receive a registration certificate.
- Upon denial, the reinstatement fee will be returned along with a brief description for the denial of reinstatement.
An INACTIVE fitter/dispenser may be required to apprentice and take the PA Fitters Exam if the inactivity period has exceeded 5 years.
Renewals (Apprentices and Fitters/Dealers)
Apprentice Registrations expire 30 days after the date of the Fitters Exam. Renewals must be requested no later than 30 days after expiration date to prevent late fees.
Fitter/Dealer Registrations expire midnight on April 15. Renewal must be requested no later than 30 days after expiration date to prevent late fees.
- Fitters must complete a fitter renewal form and provide continuing education information
- Dealers must complete a dealer renewal form and provide a list of all professional employees and branch offices.
Branch Office Registrations expire midnight on April 15.
Out-of-State Transfer-In Requirements
How do I apply to fit and sell hearing aids in the state of Pennsylvania if I am already registered as a hearing aid dispenser in another state?
Pennsylvania does not have direct reciprocity for out-of-state registrants. You must be engaged in the fitting and selling of hearing aids at an established place of business in a state other than Pennsylvania for a period of two years within a five-year period immediately prior to application.
You may complete a “temporary apprentice” registration application and return it to the Department of Health with the fee and a copy of your current out-of-state license.What are the additional requirements for out-of-state transfer?
How do I apply to fit and sell hearing aids in the state of Pennsylvania if I am already registered as an audiologist in another state?
- You must practice in Pennsylvania for a minimum of three-months prior to taking the Fitters Exam.
- You are not required to obtain a sponsor and may fit and sell in Pennsylvania using the temporary registration certificate issued to you.
- You must take the next scheduled PA Fitters Exam and pass all eight parts.
- The same renewal requirements apply to the apprentice registration if all eight parts of the exam are not passed the first time. (See above apprentice requirements)
- If you are placed on the INACTIVE list, you must cease all fitting and selling in Pennsylvania, until all eight parts of the exam have been successfully completed.
You must contact the Pennsylvania Department of State, Board of Speech, Language & Hearing at 717-783-1389 and
obtain a Pennsylvania audiologist license.
You may complete a dealer registration application and return it to the Department of Health with the fee (see dealer registration) and a copy of your current Pennsylvania state license.