Begin Main Content Area

​About Us

​Environmental health examines how different environments affect communities’ well-being. The health effects of breathing contaminated air or drinking water, living near abandoned toxic waste sites or being exposed to substances, such as lead, arsenic, pesticides and heavy metals, are all potentially cause for concern in Pennsylvania, a historically industrial state. Recognizing the prevalence of such issues, Pennsylvania created the Division of Environmental Health, what is now the Division of Environmental Health Epidemiology.

Contact Us

Have an environmental health concern? Contact us.

Mission of the Division

Promoting and enhancing the health and well-being of the public and the environment through its responsibility for providing technical evaluation and/or consultation to identify environmental chemical exposures of concern and to assess the potential harmful effects posed by them.

Staff Directory

Anil Nair, Ph.D., MPHDivision Directorannair@pa.gov
Bhagwan Aggarwal, Ph.D., MBA

Epidemiology Research Associate
APPLETREE program

baggarwal@pa.gov
Chinenye Boyer MPH, M.Ed.Epidemiology Research Associatechiboyer@pa.gov
Francesca Branch, DrPH, MSPH, CPHEpidemiologist Supervisorfbranch@pa.gov
Maria Moskwa, MPHEpidemiology Research Associatemmoskwa@pa.gov
Michael L. McCaskill, Ph.D., MPHPublic Health Toxicologist
Principal Investigator - APPLETREE program
mmccaskill@pa.gov
Nathan R. Miller

Environmental Health Specialist

APPLETREE program

narmille@pa.gov
Sasidevi Arunachalam, MS PHS

Epidemiology Program Specialist
APPLETREE program

sarunachal@pa.gov
Stephanie Hasanali, Ph.D.Oil and Natural Gas Production Health Registryc-shasanal@pa.gov
​Nathan McCray, MPH​Epidemiology Research Associate APPLETREE programnmccray@pa.gov
Susan WoodPer and Polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) projectc-swood@pa.gov
Kandiah Sivarajah
Public Health Toxicologistksivarajah@pa.gov