Begin Main Content Area

 Content Editor

​About Us

​Environmental health examines how different environments affect communities’ well-being. The health effects of breathing contaminated air or drinking water, living near abandoned toxic waste sites or being exposed to substances, such as lead, arsenic, pesticides and heavy metals, are all potentially cause for concern in Pennsylvania, a historically industrial state. Recognizing the prevalence of such issues, Pennsylvania created the Division of Environmental Health, what is now the Division of Environmental Health Epidemiology.

Contact Us

Have an environmental health concern? Contact us.

Mission of the Division

Promoting and enhancing the health and well-being of the public and the environment through its responsibility for providing technical evaluation and/or consultation to identify environmental chemical exposures of concern and to assess the potential harmful effects posed by them.

Staff Directory

Anil Nair, Ph.D., MPHDivision Directorannair@pa.gov
​Attah Mbrah, Ph.D., MPH
​Epidemiologist
ambrah@pa.gov
Bhagwan Aggarwal, Ph.D., MBAEpidemiology Research Associate
APPLETREE program
baggarwal@pa.gov
Chinenye Boyer, MPH, M.Ed.Epidemiology Research Associatechiboyer@pa.gov
Julie V. Miller, Ph.D., DABTPublic Health Toxicologistjuvmille@pa.gov
Katie Sneeringer, DrPHEpidemiologist Supervisorksneeringe@pa.gov
Maria Moskwa, MPHEpidemiology Research Associatemmoskwa@pa.gov
Nathan McCray, MPHEpidemiology Research Associate
APPLETREE program
nmccray@pa.gov
Nathan R. MillerEnvironmental Health Specialist
APPLETREE program
narmille@pa.gov
Remy Babich, Ph.D.Contract Epidemiologist
PennOSHS Program
c-rbabich@pa.gov
Sasidevi Arunachalam, MS, PHSEpidemiology Program Specialist
APPLETREE program
sarunachal@pa.gov
Stephanie Hasanali, Ph.D.Contract Epidemiologist
Environmental Health Capacity Program
c-shasanal@pa.gov
Susan WoodPer and Polyfluoroalkyl substances (PFAS) projectc-swood@pa.gov