The order requiring universal face coverings was lifted statewide at 12:01 am on Monday, June 28. We continue to urge Pennsylvanians to follow CDC guidance for wearing a mask where required by law, rule, and regulations, including healthcare, local business and workplace guidance.
Symptoms may appear in as few as two days or as long as 14 days after exposure and can include:
- Shortness of breath
- Repeated shaking with chills
- Muscle pain
- Sore throat
- New loss of taste or smell
Reported illnesses have ranged from people with little to no symptoms to people being severely ill and dying.
It is a top priority to ensure that all people in Pennsylvania who are
experiencing symptoms of COVID-19 or who have been exposed to someone
with COVID-19 have access to diagnostic testing.
Individuals who have been in close contact with a confirmed COVID-19 case should be tested regardless of the presence of symptoms. Close contacts are people who have been within 6 feet of a person with a confirmed COVID-19 infection for at least 15 minutes.
Persons who have been exposed to someone with COVID-19 and have received a booster vaccine or are within 6 months of receiving their primary vaccine series should wear a mask around others for 10 days, but do not need to quarantine.
Persons who are unvaccinated or who are eligible (i.e., more than 6 months after primary vaccine series) but have not yet received a booster vaccine must quarantine at home for 5 days, and then wear a mask around others until Day 10.
All exposed persons regardless of vaccination should test on Day 5 if possible.
Find a testing site in Pennsylvania.
If you test positive for the virus that causes COVID-19, take the following steps to protect others regardless of your COVID-19 vaccination status:
- Isolate for at least 5 days. You can end isolation after 5 full days if you are fever-free for 24 hours without the use of fever-reducing medication and your other symptoms have improved (Loss of taste and smell may persist for weeks or months after recovery and need not delay the end of isolation). Day 0 is your first day of symptoms. You can also use a test-based strategy to end isolation.
- If you test positive for COVID-19 and never develop symptoms, isolate for at least 5 days and wear a well-fitting mask around others at home and in public for an additional 5 days. Day 0 is the day the sample was collected for a positive test result.
- Wear a well-fitting mask around others at home and in public for 5 additional days after the end of your 5-day isolation period. Take additional precautions on days 6-10, such as avoiding travel and situations where you will come in contact with individuals at high risk for severe disease. If you are unable to wear a mask when around others, you should continue to isolate for 10 days.
- Follow CDC's recommendations for isolation.
- Talk to a healthcare provider immediately to see if available outpatient treatment options maybe right for you – even if your symptoms are mild. Most treatments must be started within days of initially feeling sick to be effective.
- Contact your healthcare provider as soon as possible if you are more likely to get very sick because of being an older adult or having underlying medical conditions or if your symptoms get worse.
All Pennsylvanians ages 6 months and older are eligible to receive a COVID-19 vaccine. Those aged 6 months to 18 years require a parental consent. Learn more about the pediatric vaccine.
All adults in Pennsylvania and children ages 5 and older are now eligible for a COVID-19 vaccine booster. Based on CDC recommendation, everyone 18 and older can schedule a booster dose five months after receiving their second dose of Pfizer or Moderna or two months after receiving the Johnson & Johnson vaccine. The CDC also recommends that 5 to 17-year-olds who received Pfizer-BioNTech as their initial doses can schedule a Pfizer booster dose 5 months after receiving their second dose.
All adults ages 50 and older, as well as Pennsylvanians age 12 and older who are moderately or severely immunocompromised, are recommended to receive a second COVID-19 vaccine booster 4 months after their first booster. Based on CDC recommendations, those 50 and older and those 18 and older who are moderately or severely immunocompromised can choose to get either a Pfizer-BioNTech or a Moderna booster. 12 to 17 year olds who are moderately or severely immunocompromised are recommended to receive the Pfizer-BioNTech booster. Learn more about COVID-19 vaccine recommendations for people who are moderately or severely immunocompromised.
Check for a location near you and connect with your provider of choice to set up an appointment.
Pennsylvania has in place several resources for those struggling during the COVID-19 pandemic — including Unemployment Compensation, financial assistance, food help, mental health tools, and more.
It’s normal to feel anxiety around the COVID pandemic, but if you feel like these feelings are interfering with everyday life, it might be time to seek out help.
Report price gouging to the Attorney General via the price gouging complaint form.
Call 1-877-PA-HEALTH (1-877-724-3258) for assistance if you have other questions or concerns.