
 

HEARING AID PROGRAM 

                                               132 KLINE PLAZA, SUITE A 

HARRISBURG PA  17104 

(717) 783-8078 

 

FITTER REGISTRATION RENEWAL 

CONTINUING EDUCATION (CE) REQUIREMENTS 

 

In accordance with the Pennsylvania Hearing Aid Sales Registration Law, Act of 1976, 

P.L. 1182, No. 262, Section 311 amended Dec. 21, 1998, P.L. 1190, No.153 

 

Hearing aid fitters/dispensers must have completed 20 contact hours (20 CEUs) of 

approved continuing education during the previous two years immediately preceding the 

expiration date.  An excess of completed contact hours in the two-year renewal period 

cannot be carried over into the next two-year renewal period.   

 

Hearing aid fitters/dispensers must indicate the total number of hours earned, date(s) 

course taken, name of course, and sponsor of the course, on the renewal application. This 

application must be signed by the fitter/dispenser.   

 

Continuing Education Certificates earned must be retained on file by the fitter/dispenser 

for three years after the renewal and must produce certificates upon demand by the 

Department of Health or its auditing agents.  Random audits and inspections will be 

performed to determine compliance with the CE requirements.  Individuals selected for 

the audit are required to produce actual CE certificates or documentation as proof of 

completion of the continuing education.  Please see back page for a list of approved 

continuing education sponsors. 

 

NEW REGISTERED FITTERS/DISPENSERS  Fitters registered for less than two 

years, hours will be prorated.  The calculation for prorating is based on the number of 

months in which the registrant possessed the registration certificate. The approximate 

general calculation is 15 ceu for 18 month registrants, 10 ceu for 12 month registrant, and 

5 ceu for 6 month registrant. 

 

ANY HEARING AID FITTER/DISPENSER WHO FAILS TO COMPLY WITH 

THE CE REQUIREMENTS WILL HAVE THEIR REGISTRATION PLACED 

INACTIVE. ANY FITTER WHO SUBMITS FRADULENT INFORMATION 

WILL BE SUBJECT TO DISCIPLINARY AND/OR ADMINISTRATIVE 

ACTION. 

 

 

NOTE:  INACTIVE FITTERS wishing to be reinstated MUST comply 

with the CE requirements in order to be reinstated. 



 

CONTINUING EDUCATION (CEU) PROVIDERS  

(This is not an all-inclusive list of approved CEU providers, but it serves as a guide. If you are 

unsure whether a provider is approved for CEU then please contact the Department of Health)  

MAKE SURE THE COURSE INCORPORATES AT LEAST ONE OF THE CORE 

SUBJECTS 

         

New Jersey Association of Hearing Health Professionals 

 Spring Seminar 

 Contact 1-856-985-6302 

 

Pennsylvania Hearing Healthcare Association 

 Spring Convention and various seminars throughout the year 

 Contact: Bob Stewart, 717-233-6844 

 

American Academy of Audiology/AAA 

 Spring Convention 

 Contact: 703-790-8466 

 www.audiology.org 

 

Audina Instruments 

 Various Seminars 

 Contact:  1-800-223-7700 

 

International Hearing Society/I.H.S./H.I.S 

 Convention &  Various Seminars & online 

            Contact: 734-522-7200 

www.ihsinfo.org 

 

American Speech-Language Hearing Association/ASHA 

 Convention & Various Seminars 

 Contact: 301-897-5700 

www.asha.org  

American Hearing Aid Associates  

Business only courses  that do not incorporate core subjects are not acceptable.  

Various monthly seminars Contact: 1-800-984-3272 

Continuing Education (CEU)  

(This is not an all-inclusive list of approved CEU providers, but it serves as a guide. If 

you are unsure whether a provider is approved for CEU then please contact the 

Department of Health)  

 

 

Hearing Healthcare Alliance of New York 

Seminars & Convention 

Contact: President David Beaulac at 518-798-6428 

http://www.ihsinfo.org/
http://www.asha.org/


 

Audiology Online 

 Anytime, courses online 

 www.audiologyonline.com 

 

HealthNow Online/Care2learn 

 Anytime, courses online. Note: Only courses under clinical audiology/hearing 

and/or geriatric/elderly are approved. 

 www.care2learn.com 

 

Hearing Healthcare Instructional Institute 

Various seminars and online at www.hhii-ceu.com 

1-800-770-8977 

 

Manufacturers 

In addition to these organizations and conventions, many hearing aid manufacturers are 

approved providers. Some approved manufacturers include: Beltone, Miracle Ear, 

Starkey, Lori/Unitron, & Magnatone., Gn Resound, Sonus, Sonic Innovations. 

 

 

CORE SUBJECTS: All Course should be related to core subjects:  

Anatomy & Physiology of the Ear, Function of Hearing Aids, Hearing Instrument 

Technology, Assistive Listening Devices, Knowledge of Hearing Aid Sales Laws, 

Compliance with the Hearing Aid Laws, Procedures/Testing/Use of Equipment for Fitting 

and Selling Hearing Aids, Hearing Aid Repair/Maintenance, Earmold Impressions, 

Medical and Rehabilitation Services for Hearing Impaired, Psychology of the Hearing 

Impaired, Special Populations (i.e. elderly, children) within the Hearing Impaired, Medical 

Referrals and/or Underlying Medical Conditions Related to the Ear or Hearing Loss, 

and/or Core Audiology.  

 

NOTE: PRACTICE BUILDERS AND GENERLA BUSINESS CLASSES ARE 

NOT APPROVED CEU PROVIDERS NOR ARE INDIVIDUAL PHYSICIANS OR 

AUDIOLOGISTS UNLESS LISTED. 

http://www.audiologyonline.com/
http://www.care2learn.com/
http://www.hhii-ceu.com/

