Skip to main content
Skip to page content

Skip Navigation LinksPennsylvania Department of Health > Healthcare Facilities > Consumers > Health Facilities > Hospitals > Primary Stroke Center

Primary Stroke Centers 


Act 4 of 2017, which went into effect August 11, 2017, creates two additional classifications of stroke care at acute care hospitals. Acute care hospitals may now be designated as Comprehensive Stroke Centers or Acute Stroke-Ready Hospitals, as well as the existing classification of Primary Stroke Centers. The designation shall last as long as the hospital remains certified by the accreditation organization, unless the designation is suspended or revoked by the Department.
Hospitals seeking recognition as a Primary Stroke Center, Comprehensive Stroke Center or Acute Stroke-Ready Hospital must submit an application.  See the first link below for the application and more details on the requirements.  The second link provides a list of Stroke Centers which are currently accredited.
The last link takes you to a Stroke Center Notice that explains details of Act 4, the process of applying for this designation and information for persons with a disability who may need this document in an alternative format such as Braille, large print, audiotape, etc.


Primary Stroke Center Application

List of Stroke Centers


 Primary Stroke Center Notice