Act 110 – Public Records
(formerly known as Senate Bill 361)
The indices for birth and death public records are available on the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission (PHMC) website which now includes the most recent public record years of 1911 birth indices and 1966 death indices.
If you are in need of a certified copy of a birth or death record from the public record years, please visit http://www.health.pa.gov/MyRecords/Certificates/Pages/11596.aspx for the most current processing times, forms, fees and ordering information.
If you have questions regarding the public birth and death records please contact the Pennsylvania Historical and Museum Commission at 350 North St., Harrisburg, PA 17120, or email: firstname.lastname@example.org.
On Dec.15, 2011, Senate Bill 361 was enacted.
This bill amends the Act of June 29, 1953, (P.L. 304, No. 66), known as the Vital Statistics Law of 1953, to provide for public access to certain birth and death certificates after a fixed amount of time has passed. This legislation provides that such documents become public records 105 years after the date of birth or 50 years after the date of death.
To apply for a non-certified copy you must first search the Pennsylvania birth indices
or death indices
to obtain a Pennsylvania State File number. Several years of indices (1920-1924 deaths and 1930-1951 deaths) are listed according to the Russell Soundex
method of indexing.
Effective July 1, 2013
, the Division of Vital Records will no longer accept applications for non-certified copies of birth and death records. Non-certified copies of birth and death certificates will be processed by the Pennsylvania State Archives
as defined by the procedure on their website. Non-certified copies of birth certificates are available for the years 1906 through 1910, and death certificates for the years 1906 through 1965.
The Division of Vital Records will continue to issue certified copies of birth and death records from 1906 to the present.