Skip to main content
Skip to page content

Skip Navigation LinksPennsylvania Department of Health > My Health > School Health > AED/CPR

Automated External Defibrillators (AEDs) and 

Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation (CPR)

School Health Corporation  has COSTAR contract pricing for all AEDs. For more information, contact Joanne Nicholas at 800-323-1305, ext. 7987 or Kristi Leahy at 800-323-1305, ext. 7943.
Private and public businesses, agencies, and institutions will all be considered for this AED Grant Program.  Even individuals are welcome to apply and may be eligible.  It’s as simple as filling out the one page grant application and submitting it by fax or mail for consideration.
The Sudden Cardiac Arrest Foundation and Enerspect Medical Solutions have joined forces to launch the AED Readiness Project, a national initiative to improve access to automated external defibrillators (AEDs) in locations that might otherwise lack opportunities to acquire the lifesaving devices. Individuals, schools, sports teams, places of worship, small businesses, and other interested parties can receive a recertified AED for $450 per device, $100 of which is a tax-deductible donation to the Sudden Cardiac Arrest Foundation, a 501(c)(3) nonprofit organization.
CPR Certification Required for School Nurses (Act 107 of 2014)​  By July 1, 2015, all school nurses are required to be CPR-certified through a Department of Health-approved certifying agency and maintain certification within the time frame established by the approved certifying agency.  Only CPR courses for Healthcare Professionals will be accepted. The list of approved courses  *(updated July 2015) has been adapted from the Bureau of EMS list for emergency medical providers. A valid Instructor card representing any of the approved courses is also acceptable. * Please note some of the approved providers have changed the name of their courses. The course names will be updated when that information is made available to school health. The providers listed are still the approved providers and the courses by their new names are still the approved courses and may be used accordingly. It will take longer for the course names to be updated in SHARRS so use the provider name to choose the course taken. 
Pennsylvania Public School Code, Article XII, Section 1205.4- CPR Instruction  Schools are required to offer CPR class at least once every three years. This training may be included in the school entity's continuing education plan.
Pennsylvania Public School Code, Article XIV, Section 1424- Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation  School entities are required to have one person certified in use of CPR during regular school hours.
Cardiac Emergency Response Plan Toolkit for Schools  The American Heart Association is committed to ensuring schools are prepared should a cardiac emergency happen in a school setting. Having a carefully orchestrated response to cardiac emergencies will reduce deaths in school settings and help ensure that chaos does not lead to an improper or inadequate response. Preparation is the essential key to saving lives! The AHA has partnered with more than ten national education, health, and cardiac arrest organizations to create the first all-in-one toolkit to make sure your schools are prepared. Multiple resources for schools are available for FREE, including a template Cardiac Emergency Response Plan and Protocol, implementation materials and so much more!
Lend a Hand, Save a Life CPR 
This statewide campaign seeks to educate Pennsylvanians on how to respond to sudden cardiac arrest, a leading killer of Americans. This campaign is a call to action for EMS providers, health educators and community leaders to teach the general public (including students) about sudden cardiac arrest and train as many people as possible in the basic principles of CPR. To access the resource packet, click here. To view an article about a nine year old girl saving her little brother using Hands Only CPR, click here.
Updated: July 17, 2016