Tobacco Sales to
In 2002, Pennsylvania’s Act 112 amended Section 6305 of the
Crimes Code and created new fines for clerks and owners of tobacco retail
stores. The Act:
§ Prohibits sales of tobacco products to a
minor (individual under 18 years of age).
§ Prohibits the furnishing of a tobacco
product to a minor (selling tobacco to a minor).
§ Prohibits vending machines to be in any
place where a minor can gain access without the supervision of a parent or
§ Restricts displaying or offering for sale
a cigarette out of a pack.
§ Restricts access to tobacco products by
Act 112 does not include an age restriction to sell tobacco, only to purchase and possess.
The goal of this Act is to decrease
access to tobacco products for youth and ultimately end illegal tobacco sales
to and use by minors in Pennsylvania. In response to this Act, the Pennsylvania
Department of Health conducts compliance checks at tobacco retailers across the
state to make sure tobacco products are not sold to minors.
report a tobacco retailer that is selling tobacco products to minors, please
email the Pennsylvania
Department of Health at RA-DHTobaccoSales@pa.gov. Please
include the following information in your email: store name, address, county
type of product being sold to youth.
The Pennsylvania Department of Health also conducts tobacco compliance check inspections on behalf of the Food and Drug Administration (FDA).
If you witness a retailer selling tobacco to a minor (less than 18 years of age) or other unlawful sales practices, please report it to the FDA.
Report a Potential Tobacco Violation
Examples of Potential Tobacco Product Violations You Can Report to the FDA
Reports can be submitted anonymously; however, reports accompanied by names and contact information are helpful in cases when FDA needs to follow up for more information. The Potential Tobacco Product Violations Form provides an opportunity for the public and other stakeholders to report a variety of potential tobacco product violations that include, but are not limited to:
- Sales to minors
- Flavored cigarette sales
- Advertising/promotion/marketing restrictions (e.g., Describing the tobacco product as “light,” “mild,” or “low” or claiming that the product is safer or less harmful without an FDA order in effect; distributing t-shirts or other novelty items with the brand name of a cigarette or smokeless tobacco product; and event sponsorship in the brand name of a cigarette or smokeless tobacco product)
- Free samples
- Vending machines in prohibited areas/self-service display/direct access to cigarette or smokeless tobacco
- Sale of cigarettes in packs of less than 20
Potential Tobacco Product Violations Reporting
more information, please contact:
Division of Tobacco Prevention and
625 Forster Street, Room 1032 Health and
Harrisburg, PA 17120
Phone: (717) 783-6600